Election Day Checklist for you!


Dimmit County Voters return to the polls on Tuesday, July 31 for the Senatorial District 19 position which fields eight (8) candidates.  Governor Greg Abbott ordered the Special Election on June 20, 2018 after the resignation of Senator Carlos Uresti and its acceptance which caused a vacancy to exist in the Texas Senate.  District 19 consists of Brewster, Crockett, Dimmit, Edwards, Frio, Kinney, Maverick, Medina, Pecos, Real, Reeves, Terrell, Uvalde, Val Verde and Zavala Counties.

Early Voting in person began on July 16 and will end on Friday, July 27. You may vote early at the Courthouse from 8am to 5pm and remains open during the Lunch Hour, 12 Noon to 1pm. Sample Ballots are available at the County Clerks Office (Courthouse).

On Tuesday, July 31, Polling Places will Open at 7am and Close at 7pm.

Dimmit County Clerk and County Elections Officer Mario Z Garcia reminds voters to “Know Your Polling Place” location, i.e., there is a consolidation of polling places as follows :

PRECINCTS: 1, 6 and 7 : Courthouse, 103 N., 5th St.,  Carrizo Springs

PRECINCT: 2 : Old Band Hall (School Board Meeting RM) 805 W. Nopal & 9th St., Carrizo Springs

PRECINCT: 3 : Justice of  The Peace Pct. 3 Office Bldg. Hwy. 85 & Commerce St. Big Wells

PRECINCT: 4 (Catarina), 5 (Asherton) : City Hall 1001 W. Carter Asherton

The County Clerks Office and the County Tax Office will be CLOSED for regular business on Tuesday, July 31. Both Offices will be open ONLY for Election-related business.  Both Offices will open on Wednesday, August 1 at 8:00 am to resume regular office hours and business.

Election Results will be posted at the Courthouse on the North Entrance (Houston St.) as follows :

7:00 pm – Early Voting Report — Final Report which includes early voting and election day are posted as soon as all ballots are counted.

Questions? about Early Voting or Election Day visit or call the County Clerks Office: (830)876-4209 or 876-4238.

Questions? about your Voter Registration visit or call the County Tax Office : (830) 876-9904, ext. 1